That China Girl











{May 31, 2011}   Why write it down?

I worried a little about putting all my thoughts out here in this blog.  I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.  I also was afraid I would come back later and think, why the heck did I write that?   But now that we’ve reached the official end of the Blogathon, I’m kind of glad I took part. 

For one thing it will be good to remember the early days here. No matter how vivid it seems now, I’m sure I’d forget a lot of it if I didn’t write it down.  Chen Laoshi, my Chinese teacher, told me a proverb  that really  captures this:

The palest ink is better than the best memory. 

 

This is a good thing, as the white ink in my blog, which even I sometimes found hard to read, could not be any more pale unless it was invisible.

I also found a couple of other Chinese proverbs I that I thought were inspirational for writers, so I wanted to share them with my fellow bloggers on this finaly day of Blogathon 2011:. 

  • For dealing with anxiety about where your writing is going, whether it will  sell, or people will like it,  the Chinese remind us:

A bird does not sing because it has an answer.  It  sings because it has a song.

  • On worries that you’ve got such a long way to go before you’ve completed your dream project  or made it as a writer:

Be not afraid of growing slowly.  Be afraid only  of standing still

Good luck, everyone, and happy blogging!

                                                Taya

 P.S.  I know it’s kinda late to be saying this, but my blog does look better if you minimize the window.  Otherwise, so sorry, it’s pretty random layout.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
