That China Girl











{May 30, 2011}   What came before

Yesterday, when I was writing the post about my, you know, crush, I realized, I haven’t said much about my life before I came here.  Maybe for most people, coming to a new country or school and having someone like that paying attention to you wouldn’t be a big deal. 

For me, I still can’t believe it.

 

 Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I was a total loser, or anything.  Back in Chicago, I did lots of things during my freshman year. Sure,  I wasn’t a cheerleader, but I went to some of the games and the dances.  I usually hung with Lesia, Maddy (at least until she met Tyson) and Colin, when we could drag  him away from his gaming pals.   A couple of boys asked me to dance, like Big Al, who I towered over even at 5 foot 5, and some of guys from my math class who weren’t total rejects.

I’m kind of quiet, so I’m sure that doesn’t help.  And I can pretty much deal with whatever.  It’s that only child thing.  Dad’s always working, Mom has her moods, and I do well in school.   I don’t need that many friends or distractions, I can hang by myself.

 So really if CC and Geoff had just blown me off that day.  Even if they’d done it after her party, when we all went back to school, I would have gotten it.  But there CC was on day one, wanting me to sit with her at lunch.  I guess part of it is that so many kids come and go with their parents jobs, that if you find someone halfway normal, you’re ready to make a friend. 

Mom and Dad  have been thrilled that I’m suddenly doing things like going to parties and talking to her about boys.   I feel a little bit like Cinderella — I keep waiting for it to all go away.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
