That China Girl











{May 21, 2011}   The guard at my window….

Chinese guard on my corner, looking up at me

Sitting in my bedroom

What do you see?

Say what?  You were not looking, okay I’ll speak for me.

Sometimes I see a young boy visiting from a farm

Wearing baggy clothes, doing little real harm

Other times a soldier — ready for a war

Your notepad is your rifle, as with a pen you score

Comings and goings

Car numbers, a house

Biting into people’s lives as quiet as a ……

No, I will not say it, won’t voice these fears aloud

And you’ll pretend when you look up

You’re searching for a cloud.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
